Pin It

The World Marathon Majors have been held since 2006.

Part of the WMM "Six Star" are six major running events, as well as the Olympic Marathon and the World Championship Marathon. In Europe, the Berlin Marathon and the London Marathon are part of the World Marathon Majors. The United States of America has three participants at once, with the Boston Marathon, the Chicago Marathon and the New York City Marathon. Since 2012, the Tokyo Marathon has also been a member of the World Marathon Majors.

The classification

The World Marathon Majors allows the fastest athletes in the world to earn points. The winners are paid with a highly endowed prize money. The top 5 of each marathon will receive points. The winner is awarded 25 points, the second 16, the third 9, the fourth 4 and the fifth one point - the same procedure applies to the women.

Complex system

A series always lasts one year. However, the first and the last race are held in the same place, so that each year a different organizer can host the first or the final race in six years. The two best results of an athlete are added together. In case of a tie, the direct comparison decides.

Prize money

The winners each received US$500,000 in prize money up to 2017. From 2018 to 2021, the winners received only 250,000 U.S. dollars, but second and third places also received prizes. In 2022, the winner prize money was drastically reduced to 50,000 US dollars. Places 2 to 5 also received bonuses of between US$25,000 and US$5,000.

World Marathon Majors - Dates and Results

Tokio Marathon / Tokyo-Marathon

Date of the race | 09:10 Uhr
Location of the race Tokio
Distance of the race 42,2 km / 10,7 km

London Marathon

Date of the race | 10:00 Uhr
Location of the race London
Distance of the race 42,2 km


Date of the race | 09:15 Uhr
Location of the race Berlin
Distance of the race 42,2 km

Chicago Marathon

Date of the race | 07:30 Uhr
Location of the race Chicago
Distance of the race 42,2 km

New York City Marathon

Date of the race | 08:40 Uhr
Location of the race New York
Distance of the race 42,2 km

To the detailed view of the World Marathon Majors

Pin It

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare zum Artikel

Alle Kommentare und Meinungen zu diesem Beitrag


Weitere interessante Themen


Trainingspläne Laufen und Marathon

Lebenslanger Zugriff auf rund 60 Lauf-Trainingspläne - für Anfänger und Erfahrene!

Vorteile HDsports Bestzeit Club

More sports

Bestzeit-Club Logo